Sellers elected chairman of Association of Episcopal Colleges

November 10, 2010

Voorhees College President Cleveland L. Sellers, Jr. was recently elected to serve as chairman of the Association of Episcopal Colleges (AEC), the U.S. Chapter of the Colleges and Universities of the Anglican Communion (CUAC). 

CUAC is a worldwide association of more than 120 institutions of higher education that were founded by and retain ties to the churches of the Anglican Communion. The Episcopal Colleges in the United States are Bard College, Clarkson College, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Kenyon College, St. Augustine College, Saint Augustine's College, Saint Paul's College, the University of the South and Voorhees College. 

As chairman of the Board of Directors, which is made up of all the presidents of the Episcopal Colleges, Sellers will be leading the colleges in developing new strategic initiatives for enabling all these institutions to fulfill their public missions during these difficult financial times. 

"It is important for AEC to be committed to the vision of the churches," Sellers said. "We will continually strive to alleviate poverty and injustice and work toward racial reconciliation and restorative justice."