VC Tigers Capture the A.I.I. Confecernce Title

March 3, 2013

Voorhees Captures DI Men's Conference Title
03.03.2013 - [Men's Basketball - D1]

MONTGOMERY, W.A. - Voorhees College overcame a 30-26 halftime deficit Sunday to slip past second seeded West Virginia University Institute of Technology 65-64 to capture the Association of Independent Institution Division I Men's Basketball title at the Neal D. Baisi Athletic Center.

Voorhees advances to the NAIA Men's Division I Basketball Championships set for March 13-19 in Kansas City, Mo.

 Jeffery Evans, the tournament's MVP, tossed in 18 points and grabbed eight rebounds to help lead Voorhees past WVU-Tech. Sam Dotson chipped in 10 points and Brandon Allen grabbed 10 rebounds. Voorhees defeated both of the tournament's top seeds to win the championship.

Tarrale Clark finished with 19 points to lead WVU-Tech, while David Rawlinson added 15.

Along with Evans and Allen on the all-tournament team were WVU-Tech's Clark, Allen's Richard Jefferson, California State-San Marcos' Bryan Emmanuel, Morris' Justin Akleme and Robert Morris' Sean Montgomery.