Picture of Office of Communications

Office of Communications

Renowned Scholar Dr. Johnnetta Cole to Address Voorhees University’s Academic Honors Convocation

Dr. Johnnetta Cole
Dr. Johnnetta Cole

March 13, 2024 – Voorhees University is honored to announce Dr. Johnnetta Cole as the distinguished guest speaker at the forthcoming Academic Honors Convocation. The event, marking a celebration of academic excellence and achievement, will take place on Thursday, March 28, 2024, at 11:00 am at Voorhees University, Massachusetts Hall, 151 Academic Circle, Denmark, SC 29042.

Dr. Cole’s presence at the convocation adds significant prestige to the occasion, underscoring Voorhees University’s commitment to recognizing outstanding scholarly accomplishments. As an esteemed educator, anthropologist, and author, Dr. Cole brings a wealth of experience and insight to inspire and motivate the university’s brightest minds.

The Academic Honors Convocation will also feature the induction ceremony for the Alpha Kappa Mu National Honor Society, further recognizing and honoring students who have demonstrated exceptional scholarship and dedication to their academic pursuits.

The Honors College, named after Voorhees University’s ninth president, Dr. W. Franklin Evans, is dedicated to nurturing academic excellence and leadership among its students. The annual Academic Honors Convocation serves as a testament to Voorhees University’s commitment to recognizing and celebrating the exceptional achievements of its scholars. The college endeavors to deepen the intellectual, leadership, and professional competencies of its graduates, ensuring their success in their chosen fields.

2024 Honors College Inductees: Yolanda Summers, Dominique Snodey, Reginald Faison Jr., Kamyah Dixon, William Mitchell, Anaya Tucker, Samaria Cooper, Apryl Davis, Fernando Baez, Joeclee Gbasakollie, De’Arj Forbes, Ashanti Wright, Be’Shorn Strachan, Izayah Rahming, Armond Hopkins, Denton Britton, and Navardo Burrows. 

Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Society is a prestigious organization open to junior, senior, and graduate students who demonstrate outstanding scholarship across all academic disciplines. The society aims to promote academic excellence, encourage sincere endeavor in knowledge and service, and foster a high standard of personal living among its members.

The following scholars will be inducted into the Mu Epsilon Chapter of Alpha Kappa Mu National Honor Society:  Undergraduates – Jhayiah Robinson, Armond Hopkins, Alyssa Herder, Ja’Myah Haynes, Kaya Jarvis, Olutoye Adeleke, Yolanda Summers, Patience Badger, Bernyla Sparks, Adam Pressley, Isaiah Brooks, Leon Bailey, Danielle Lee-Hodges, Jordyn Hill, and Siryce Levine; Graduates – Franchesca Hook, Chelise Morman, Sonia Rocha, Dominique Grant, Therese Lapierre, Percy Austin, Debbie Miles, Martha Brown, Rasheda Mitchell, Chelsea Maclin, Valerie Newberg, and Farancia Reynolds.

Following the induction ceremony, Dr. W. Franklin Evans will serve as the guest speaker at the Talented Tenth Leadership Symposium, further enriching the academic discourse and leadership development opportunities for Voorhees University’s students.

For more information about the Academic Honors Convocation, please contact Ms. Latrice Jones at ljones@voorhees.edu or 803-780-1120.

About Voorhees University

Voorhees University, founded by Elizabeth Evelyn Wright in 1897, is a private, coeducational institution affiliated with the Episcopal Church and the United Negro College Fund. The university is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award baccalaureate and graduate degrees. Its mission is to produce highly qualified graduates who coalesce intellect and faith in pursuit of life-long learning, healthy living, the betterment of society, and an abiding faith in God. U.S. News & World Report has ranked Voorhees as a #1 best value, #3 in social mobility and #33 among regional colleges in the south in 2022-2023; and #26 among Historically Black Colleges and Universities, nationally. Additional information about Voorhees University can be found at www.voorhees.edu.


Scroll to Top